Time to Catch Up

So, I pretty much disappeared for a few weeks post-decision. For that, I apologize. Turns out, the last thing you want to do after obsessing over MBA things for a year is…well do anything about admissions for a few weeks.

As I mentioned in my last post, I paid my Johnson deposit, and will be off to Ithaca this Summer/Fall. I have been spending my free time trying to learn everything I can about the place. I have contacted a number of current students soliciting advice on all fronts – housing, course exemptions, career thoughts, etc., and have been quite pleased. As expected, the Johnson network is very strong, and from what I have seen so far, people are willing to go way out of their way to help you. I will not bore you with the details of everything, because it is likely that very few of you will be attending Johnson in the future. That is not to say you will not have the ability to… but rather given its small class size, there numerical odds of you attending are quite slim. If, however, you are thinking of shooting an application there, let me know if I can help you in any way! I cannot claim to be a master of anything about the school or admissions, but the least I could do is offer.

Aside from Johnson, I have been planning my exit strategy. If you remember from waaaaay back when, I noted that I did not have the luxury of applying to only highly selective programs *cough “I’m only applying to HSW” cough*, with the backup plan of applying the following year if I was dinged. I am on a contract with my employer, which terminates sometime this summer. I have contacted HR, to which I found out that was largely false, and was told to “work it out with my manager” on when I wanted to leave. Oh well – not an issue, I just need to actually sit down and work it out with  my manager. I was thinking sometime in June, but it is a difficult balance between funemployment time and saving money. I am looking forward to having a minion under me – they plan to hire someone to replace me, who I will have to train. All I know is I will not be leaving on Friday the 13th (yes, that day happens in June).

Finally, I have been thinking a lot about costs. I have tried to model out just about everything I could for the next 2 years, and came up with a really big number at the bottom of my sheet. Fortunately, the next sheet detailing my assets was substantial as well, but I still have a gap of about 40 or 50 thousand dollars. I cannot think of any legal way to earn that kind of money in the next 6 months, so I have been trying to cut back on many of my expenses. Packing lunches, parking in the farther cheaper lot, going out less – or at least not buying as many drinks when I do go out. I have put myself of a good cash-diet for the next few months. At the same time, I have been trying to get the most out of my time here. I have a really strong group of friends who I am sure I will miss come August, so I want to maximize my time with them in a cost-efficient manner. And that is really hard.

 

10 responses to “Time to Catch Up

  1. “I will not bore you with the details of everything, because it is likely that very few of you will be attending Johnson in the future.”

    Please bore us! I’m still waiting for my decision from Johnson, but even if I don’t get in/attend, it’s still helpful for all of us prospectives out there to learn more about the school from an admit :)

  2. Agree with MBA my way, I will not be attending Johnson, but I would love to read insights from someone who is going through this process as well.

  3. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog·

  4. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting·

  5. Hello Hamm0 (Thats what i guess is your online name!!)

    Greetings from India. I am an applicant to the 2yr program at Johnson. I need your help & suggestions to improve my essays. How do i get in touch. Hope full you will reply via mail.

    Hope to Hear from you. Deadline for the 3rd round is 12th January.

  6. Awesome hamm0, and congratulations! All the best at Johsnon!

    Since you’re a fan of The Office, any chance you’ll be joining an a cappella group while at Cornell, a la Nard Dog? :D

Leave a Reply

