Decision Season

Well, it is that time of year. As foreshadowed by my last post, the storm is here. The once quiet gmatclub chat room is now bubbling with 30-50 people hiding from work waiting for decisions. Every piece of data from the admissions office is posted, analyzed, decomposed, and re-analyzed. For me, this week represents my first decision date. Cornell Johnson is set to release decisions tomorrow, 12/11 for all round 1 applicants. Knowing this, I expected calls to start today.

I spent the morning hiding my phone in places where I could not see it, but could hear it vibrate if needed. That lasted for about 20 minutes when my mother called me to see how much snow I got and I almost fell out of my chair trying to answer the phone. Do not ever call an MBA applicant in the 48hrs preceding a deadline. Around 11:00, with still no news on the forums, I decided it was time for an extended lunch. I grabbed my coat, and hit the gym. For those of you that are still waiting, or will be waiting in the future, definitely do this. The gym is a great way to reduce stress and take your mind off something that is swaying your attention from everything else. I figured it would be fitting that when I came back to my locker after my shower, that I’d have a missed call. At least I hoped.

Get away from me phone!

Phone check #496 on the day yielded an unimportant email from work, so I headed out into the cold for some lunch. Maybe food would help me relax. After all, I do love my noms. When I got back to my desk with my bounty, I realized they grabbed me the wrong flavor of chips – I hate sour cream and onion. At least my wrap was good. Maybe it was just going to be one of those days. I woke up late and had to shovel the snow from the driveway, which made me late for work. I was even more late because the snow-caused traffic jam. And now I got the wrong chips. Then it started.

It was looking like one of those days….

While suffering my way through the aforementioned chips, I instinctively checked gmatclub to see if anyone had heard from Johnson. Yup. Someone from the east coast was reporting an acceptance. And then there was another. And another. If you are an avid reader of Boots to Suits, you know I refer to application anxiety by a scale called the mpg scale. Assuming the scale of 0-10, 10 being the highest, I moved to about a 9.86. All of the admits were from the east coast. I am from the east coast. Like any neurotic applicant, I took to my phone, and started texting a friend who know what I was going through to pass the time. At least this way, if the phone rang, I’d have it in my hands.

Waiting waiting waiting waiting.

Mid-text, I got a call from a number I did not recognize. My heart leapt, but then I realized it wasn’t the area code I was looking for. Who is calling me from Palmdale? I don’t know anyone in Palmdale. I ducked in a conference room and timidly answered. The voice began to say something – and all I heard was “…from the Johnson school of Management at Cornell – do you know why I’m calling you today?” I beamed. “I think so, but I want to hear you say it” was my awfully cheesy response. The rest of the call I don’t think I could choke out anything but lots of “thank you’s”.

Johnson adcom listening to me on the phone

So there it is – I’m in at Johnson. I feel like the weight of the world has been lifted. Those that know me know that I’ve been working towards this for a long time. I would like to thank all of you for all of your efforts, advice, and dealing with my mpgs. You people are the best. Looking forward, I have 3 more decisions coming up next week: Fuqua, Ross, and Tuck. You will definitely get another update by the end of next week, but for now, its celebration time.

17 responses to “Decision Season

  1. Congratulations on your Great Achievement . [Quote]Those that know me know that I’ve been working towards this for a long time.”[Quote] Indeed. You were. Wish you all the success for other schools as well.

  2. Thank you everyone. I think the biggest two emotions are gratitude and relief! Hopefully I’ll have some optionality, just because I spent so much effort on my other applications, but If I don’t… that is OK too :)

  3. Great news, hope you celebrated. I can barely see through the haze of my own celebration hangover… Best feeling ever to go to work on though!

  4. Pingback: Congrats to my fellow bloggers | Domotron·

  5. Congrats! I’m the editor of Poets&Quants and am really enjoying your blog. Would love to reproduce some of your posts and re-publish them on our homepage, I would of course include links back to your blog so that more people would read your writing. Let me know if this is okay with you. Write me at Byrne332@gmail.com.

    Best,
    John A. Byrne
    Poets&Quants

Leave a Reply

