60% of the time, it works every time.

Hey all.  Hope you are holding up well as round one interview invites have moved into full swing.  I know I have been on edge the past few days, waiting for my phone to light up with mail from my target schools.  I feel like Ron Burgundy in a glass case of emotion. A few weeks back, I received an interview invite and was on cloud 9.  This week, however, was a rollercoaster – one invite and one ding.

Me during all of application season 

Earlier this week, I received an interview invite from Johnson! I was amazed that I got an offer – I was preparing for the worst. Johnson changed my status from “Submitted” to “Under Review” almost a full month ago.  Browsing the forums (which, by the way is proven detrimental to an applicant’s health – do not do it), I saw many people that got their invite after a few days, up to 2 weeks.  When I crossed 4 weeks, I figured I was sunk. Was it because I never visited Johnson? Was it because I only submitted my application without ever talking to admissions or setting foot on campus? Then, as one of my good friends asked me how I was holding up on gchat, the activity prompted my phone to refresh my inbox and I received my invite. I was in the middle of responding that I was hanging in there, when I switched the screen to see the invite. My response was similar to that of Ron Burgundy when someone switched the script on him; I garbled out something incoherent, and nonsensical. I quickly explained the situation and went to go figure out how to schedule the interview!

Me rambling as I received my Johnson invite

Bad news second; Wharton doesn’t like me. I was expecting this, for the most part.  I held out a tiny bit of hope, but after several waves and no news on my end, I figured I was destined for a ding. Wharton was definitely a reach school for me, so I do not feel too upset about it. I do, however, feel upset that I spent hours of work on essays and $265 for them to kick me to the curb with a form letter. Such is life, and it is time to move on. I removed all my updates from BTG and gmatclub for the school, spread bad rumors about them, and even unfollowed them on twitter because that’s how I roll. (Just kidding, Wharton is a great school – I am just a bit sore right now)

Wharton (Jack Black) Me (Baxter)

So that is it – two invitations for interview, two self-initiated interviews, one ding, and one TBD. I do not know what to expect from Darden; it is my understanding that they can invite me to interview up to the deadline in late December, so I guess it is time to wait.  It is not like I don’t have things to do – two interviews in two weeks means I should get off of here, and focus on my prep. With that, I’ll leave you with one final gif – I like to think this is how the admissions people extend their interviews to me.

Ross and Johnson Adcom’s talking to me

 

8 responses to “60% of the time, it works every time.

    • Come again? You know I don’t speak Spanish. In English, please. Huh? You pooped in the refrigerator? And you ate the whole . . . wheel of cheese? How’d you do that? That’s actually – I’m not even mad. That’s amazing.

      Thanks domo – good luck in your interviews!

  1. I got my ding from Wharton yesterday. TOTALLY know what you mean about unfollowing them from Twitter. They are just dead to me now!

    And yeah, I found their rejection letter a little s**tty too.

  2. Pingback: The Calm Before the Storm | Boots to Suits·

Leave a Reply

