Breaker 1-9, What’s your 20?

So a little status update for my awesome readers – I know there hasn’t been too much out of my camp this month.  However, yesterday brought big news – I’m officially an applicant at not one, not two, but three schools.  I submitted my application for Johnson, Ross, and Wharton last night, and immediately felt better.  While I’m a few days early, I knew that I had put my best foot forward, and after re-reading for what seemed like the thousandth time, it was time to have a 1v1 with the Submit button. Spoiler alert, I won by default, as the button really can’t fight back.  Hmm, perhaps a bad example on my part.  In any case, I ran into no problems when submitting, other than being out $655. Ouch.

The good news is my application plan is coming along just fine. I have 4 out of 46 goals “In Progress”, 3 that I decided against for whatever reason, and 2 that still need to be started. Not bad. My funding plan is coming along just fine, and while I don’t think I’ll make the goal of having $100,000 in cash before I started, I think I’ll get close. My two interviews at Fuqua and Ross have put a damper on saving, even though I had them planned well in advance. Oops.  Look for those visit/interview posts in the coming weeks!

newcap

 

Next, I have Tuck essays due in 9 days, Darden in 15 days , and Fuqua in 21 days.  Tuck is all drafted, just being tweaked based on my visit.  Darden and Fuqua are half drafted, meaning mainly that I have work to do. No other schools on my list have open-interview policy, so I’m in a holding pattern until someone (hopefully) calls. On the recommendation front, I have 3 individual recommendations left, though I’ve been promised the most pressing (Johnson) by tonight.  I have to say, this has been one of the more stressful parts of the application process. It continues to be a thorn in my side, as I have to dip into the savings once again for gifts for my recommenders.

So there you have it folks.  With a few days to spare, I’m officially an applicant at 3 of my 6 target schools.  It is a strange feeling being this close to being done, but as many MBA students have told me, I’m approaching the hardest part of the process – waiting.

3 responses to “Breaker 1-9, What’s your 20?

    • Haha hardly a backup. As I mentioned on gmatclub, just somewhere I am thinking about donating $265 to..assuming one of my round 1 schools works out, I’ll give it a shot.

      Can’t get in if you don’t apply :)

      • Yup got to be in it to win it. My HBS app is most likely nothing more than a nice donation I think.

Leave a Reply

