Trust Issues

Some clerical/off topic stuff before we get into my post: Hope all my American friends had a wonderful Independence Day weekend, I know I certainly did.   As of today, I’ve added a twitter feed to my blog – follow me @hamm0_ (someone has @hamm0, and has never tweeted :| ) or just read them here!  Second, I’m amazed at how many of you have read my blog.  I’m at 100 comments and 5100 views in just over 4 months.  Keep it up!  I never knew my writing would draw so much attention, but I’m glad you guys are liking it.  Finally, I’m finding my blog has become more of a distraction to me these days – It was nice to blow off some steam before essays came out, but now that my MBA work is focusing on writing, I’m finding I have less in the tank for my blog.  Please forgive me if I don’t provide my customary weekly updates as essays start to heat up.

OK, enough about me – lets talk about trust.  First, I want to address something I’ve been seeing all over as application season heats up.  The adcom is not here to trick you.  Let me say that again:  The adcom is not here to trick you.  I’ve seen a few posts on GC/BTG/WSO/BW about involving applicants looking at the blog/twitter feeds of some of the more open adcoms and trying to see through the “lies” the adcom is telling you.  I always get a chuckle out of the investigation that happens on the forums, be it about interview invite order or essay prompt changes year to year, but this type is just plain ridiculous.  For example, if Dawna Clarke tells you that the admissions process at Tuck is holistic, it is a holistic process. Think about it – What could she possibly have to gain by telling you that it is holistic and then analyzing applications based on GMAT alone?  Nothing.  Be grateful that the admissions directors take time out of their schedule to keep you updated on the process or provide some insights into their specific application.  They want nothing more for you to succeed.

Another trust topic I want to touch on involves your essays.  Trust the people you share them with.  Lets try that agian – Share them with people you trust.  The first way, trust the people you share them with, is pretty awful advice.  No offense to anyone that has taken a peek at what I’m working on – I definitely value  your opinions, but I take everything with a grain of salt.  Just because something worked for you, doesn’t mean it will work for me.  The other way, Share them with people you trust, is much better advice.  Aside from obvious issues about sharing your work amongst your competition, be wary of getting too much feedback.  While I’ve built up a number of alumni/current students in my two-year preparation that will help me with my essays, I’m not going to leverage every one of them for every essay.  First, they’d murder me – these people have lives ya’know.  Second, I’d murder myself.  Too much feedback like that tends to get contradictory over time.  I’m having enough trouble with just myself editing some essays.  Add more cooks in the kitchen, and I don’t think the food gets any better, it just gets more crowded in the kitchen.  If you’re working on deciding who is providing the better critique then you’re not  working on what you’re supposed to be working on:  your essays.  And with that, I’m going to dive headfirst into Darden‘s essay.  Wish me luck!

 

 

 

6 responses to “Trust Issues

  1. Well done on the readers! Its a great blog, don’t spend too long on essays…!

    I agree with you on the adcoms – from my point of view of course they want the best students for their courses, but that generally means giving everyone the best chance they can. Each I’ve met so far seem keen to help and enthusiastic (while also obviously judging EVERY move you make…). They’re certainly more transparent than most job interviewers.

    I hope its not naive, but I’ll be approaching with an open honest approach while selling my best points as much as possible! I guess we’ll find out.

    • haha thanks Timbob. I’ll do my best to keep it updated.. besides, I’ll definitely need some “distraction” to fend off writers block.

  2. Pingback: Fridays From The Frontline - Clear Admit Blog·

Leave a Reply

