What Now?

Domotron and I were chatting the other day, and both came up with the same sentiment; there is not much to write about after being accepted. Back when I was beginning my blog, I had been thinking about MBA applications for about a year. Though I had only recently passed the GMAT stage of the process, I already had a good idea of the schools that I would apply to, what type of jobs I wanted, and most importantly, what was coming next. There is plenty of information about the application process at top MBA programs – hell there is a whole industry devoted to it. Because of that, I knew that while it would be a tough mountain to climb, the path was already well documented and traveled.                       

Now, my current path is well traveled…but no so well documented. Turns out, MBA students are pretty busy people! Looking at three of the blogs that really pushed me to start my own, and two have not been updated since last fall, and another the past summer. I have spoken to all of them during the past few months, and I can confirm they are alive. They just do not have the time so much anymore, which is completely understandable. I, on the other hand, have plenty of time on my hands now that I am not spending 2-3 hours a night reviewing essays or studying for the GMAT. It feels like I have an extra day in the week now! So what gives? Why no posts? Well, as I mentioned above, I do not know what I am doing anymore. Before, it was so easy to learn about what the next steps were, and share my experiences as I hit each step. Now, I am floundering around trying to do several things at once – housing, roommate, studying for core exemption (stats!), researching recruiting opportunities, networking with my class, background checks, etc. The list is massive, and really – hard to convey in a blogging scenario. 

I will say, though, that I have found a roommate, and we are wading through some of our housing options. All the housing at Johnson is off campus, and is pretty well confined between a few apartment buildings, with the occasional house as well. A guide is here, if you are so interested. On one hand, I do not want to repeat my episodes of undergrad living in a large, dilapidated house for the bare minimum each month. On the other, money is a precious resource when considering the cost of attending a top program. On the third (??) hand, if you are already spending over $150,000, what are a few extra c-notes? Some tough decisions lay ahead for me. I also submitted my payment for ReVera to conduct a background check on the facts presented in my application. Should be interesting to hear if anything comes up – not that I am expecting it, but considering how unstructured my previous job was, I can see some confusion. Oh well – we will cross that bridge when we get there. In addition, I set my final day at work! I have only a few more months left, and I will be off enjoying myself before gearing up for school. I am planning to see family, traveling, relaxing, and sleeping. I know this is a point of concern for many accepted students, as it is never a fun conversation to tell your boss that you are leaving (unless you are in a bridge-burning mood…), but luckily I dodged that issue. Now all I have to do is survive the final few months of work, while pretending to be active and enjoying what I am doing! Finally, I want to congratulate all the Round 2 applicants that found out their destiny over the past few weeks. You people worked very hard, and have the results to show for it! Congrats!

7 responses to “What Now?

  1. Would hate to lose you into the void of bschool worries…. but it is true. Very few have the time to do anything else – priorities change and you enter a whole new world which requires 150% of your attention so things start falling apart and old friends are lost :(

    Don’t disappear Hamm0!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | Stacy Blackman Consulting - MBA Admissions Consulting·

  3. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | The GMAT Club·

  4. I know what you mean about having so much time now that GMAT and applications are over. I am temporarily busy prepping for my Wharton interview, when that is done I will be pretty free again. I have been spending this new found time getting back in the gym and taking classes on coursera so I am back in the learning mind set. Good luck at Cornell next year!

  5. CONGRATS hamm0! I never got to tell you that. Get ready for a whirlwind experience. I’m actually FINALLY doing an udpated post over the next few days…I hope. Keep in touch and let me know if I can be of assistance in any way.

Leave a Reply

